Meet the Baker 2012: Lisa of The Gonzo Gourmet


Hi and welcome!

I’m so excited to participate in the San Diego Food Blogger Bake Sale for the second year in a row. What I love about blogging is meeting so many great foodies – you can see a lineup of our amazing bakers on the right-hand sidebar.

I started baking like so many little girls in the 70s…with an Easy Bake Oven. Remember those little packets of mix and the plastic trays, the light bulb that heated the whole thing up, and the fact that you could watch a million episodes of The Brady Bunch while your creation baked – because that’s how long the Easy Bake Oven took to get its groove on.

Today I bake in a standard oven that’s about 25° under (a fact I know thanks to an oven thermometer, a baker’s second best friend after a kitchen scale). I like to bake cookies and dog treats with my daughter, and artisanal bread when I’m on my own. I recently switched to eating gluten-free but have yet to bake gluten-free. (Feel free to pass along any tips you might have.)

When I’m not blogging, grilling or baking, I’m a freelance writer; my work has appeared in the San Diego Union-Tribune, San Diego’s Living in Style magazine and the Tucson Desert Leaf.

Please be sure check out my Peanut Butter M&M Blondies at this Saturday’s bake sale, and thanks for supporting the San Diego Food Blogger Bake Sale!

Leave a Reply

